Eye patch review- Our favorites

patch_review

I remember the day my son’s doctor told us to start patching. My son was 5 weeks old and had recently had surgery to remove his congenital cataract. The doctor sent us home with a few samples of an eye patch and said “go patch 6 hours a day, good luck!” That was that and it wasn’t until I was home that I realized I didn’t even ask what brand eye patch she sent us home with.

I felt lost and confused. The patches were HUGE on my tiny little guys eye. The patches left bad red rash marks on his face and he fell asleep every time I put the patch on him. For awhile I had no idea where to find patches, what patches are best and I felt like I was drowning in a pile of patches.

Now almost 4 years later, I have have learned a lot. Ive figured out what patches I like and why. I thought I would share it with you so you don’t have to spend the time drowning in a pile of patches too!

Here are my favorite eye patches and why. I like each for their own reason. I hope this will help you decide on a patch or a couple of patches. We use all of these and switch things up so we aren’t always using the same type of patches.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.33.15 PM

DSC_0677

  • Great for sensitive skin.
  • Lots of fun patterns for boys and girls!
  • Pick-a-patch – We love the Pick-a-patch option on the Orthopad’s website. This is a great way to get some new fun designs that aren’t in the standard box. (My son’s favorite is the monster truck patch and air plane patch, not pictured because he used them all.)
  • Also sold on Amazon and free shipping for Amazon Prime members.
  • Very sticky and hard for my guy to rip off. (stick to your pants once if you dont want it so sticky)
  • The smallest size was still too big for my newborns eye. I was able to trim them down some to fit better. They fit great after about 6 months old.
  • These patches are nice and soft and breathable.
  • They come individually wrapped. I love this because they survive in my purse, on the floor of the car or wherever they may end up until we use them.
  • One of our VERY favorite patches!
  • Great notches that help the patch fit even better around the nose.

ortopad

scott patching cake900

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.35.14 PM

DSC_0668

  • Bright solid colored patches great for decorating/coloring. We love the solid colors for church, nice ocasions, photo shoots and things too! (Red not pictured, we used them all.)
  • Amazing for sensitive skin – designed by a mother of a patcher who had sensitive skin. In my opinion the best sticky patch for kids with sensitive skin. If your little one has sensitive skin go order these now!
  • These patches are a little thicker feeling and survive a full day of a rough and tumble boy playing outside and sweating.
  • Can be ordered on Amazon, Krafty’s website, and some Walmart vision centers.
  • They come in resealable packages. Normally 10 of a color in each pack.

krafty

DSC_0822

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.39.09 PM

DSC_0719

  • The best fabric eye patch I have found.
  • Different sizes made to fit standard and deep frames. Even comes in adult sizes.
  • Made of a great breathable nylon fabric.
  • Designed by a Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (and pretty awesome lady!)
  • Secure Velcro design, It does not shift or move once on glasses.
  • Full occlusion – My little guy isn’t able to peek around this fabric patch! No looking above, below or to the sides of the patch.
  • You can have a custom appliqué added to your patch if you want!
  • If your doctor is okay with you using a fabric patch, check these out!!
  • We love switching back and forth from these and sticky patches.
  • Can be ordered on Framehuggers or our website.

framehuggers

DSC_0722

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.41.54 PM

DSC_0639

  • Some of our favorite fun designs. To name a couple of our favorites: Spider man patch, flame patch, animal patch.
  • Comes in a few great sizes. (really small ones for baby’s too)
  • Not as great for sensitive skinned kids. We could not use them for my son when he was a baby. We do use them now, just not every day. If your little one doesn’t have a problem with sensitive skin these are great.
  • The thinnest patch we have found and very breathable.
  • Can be ordered on Amazon.

MYI-patches

DSC_0438

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 11.43.43 PM

One more great patch is the DrPatch. We were lucky to try one last year and LOVED it. If you have some money, try it out. This patch is spendy but a really cool idea. It’s a soft silicone patch that suctions to the inside of the glasses. This patch does occlude all the way around, I wore it for a little while and could not peak around it. Scott didn’t mind wearing it too. Its so light weight he didn’t notice it. If I ever get over the price I will order one!

drpatch

JUST A NOTE…

When trying a new patch brand, let your child wear the patch for no longer than an hour the first time. This way you can see if they react to the new patch adhesive. Also talk with your doctor about a fabric patch. Some doctors do not like fabric patches. (Ours didn’t like the fabric patch until she saw the Framehuggers!)

There are other great patches, these are just our favorites.

DSC_0494

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *